Instruct was designated an ERIC in July 2017. An ERIC is a European Research Infrastructure Consortium, which is a specific legal entity designed by the EU to facilitate the joint establishment and operation of research infrastructures of European interest. The Instruct-ERIC Governance structure is defined in the Instruct-ERIC statutes. For more information on ERICs, the regulation on ERICs can be consulted.


  • Instruct-ERIC Council: the ultimate decision-making body in the consortium. It consists of scientific and administrative representatives from each Instruct-ERIC Member State
  • Executive Committee: the supervisory body for the execution of the project which reports to and is accountable to the Council. It is responsible for maintaining overall responsibility for the progress and direction of the project.
  • Instruct-ERIC hub: acts as the point of contact and administrative centre for all organizational and reporting activities to the consortium and the community.

Instruct’s objectives are set by the Instruct Council and Executive Committee. The Independent Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB), Instruct-ERIC member states, the Instruct Centres Forum and Advisory committees all provide advice. This structure provides all stakeholders, from funding agencies to individual scientists, with the channels and opportunity to shape the future of Instruct.

Instruct is part of the European Strategic Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) roadmap, which contributes to the realisation of the European Research Area. The competitive and open access to high quality research infrastructures supports the activities of European scientists and attracts the best researchers from around the world.


Instruct-ERIC Council members


Name Member Country
Michele Oleo Belgium
Virginie Storms  
Jan Burianek Czech Republic
Vladimir Sklenar  
Line Bekker Poulsen Denmark
Thomas Vosegaard  
Marko Uutela Finland
Sarah Butcher  
Eric Guittet (Chair) France
Winfried Weissenhorn  
Iris Eisenberg Israel
Joel Sussman  
Grazia Pavoncello Italy
Lucia Banci  
Uldis Berkis Latvia
Kaspars Tars  
Gintaras Valincius Lithuania
Nynke Klomp Netherlands
Reinout Raijmakers  
Maria Armenia Carrondo Portugal
Marta Abrantes  
Barbora Lipakova Slovakia
Milos Hricovini  
Inmaculada Figueroa (Vice-Chair) Spain
Jose Maria Carazo  
Megan Dowie UK
Anne McGavigan  
Plamena Markova EMBL
Christoph Mueller  


Instruct-ERIC Council observers

Name Representing
Maria Gkizeli Greece
Evangelia Chrysina  




Dates for upcoming
Instruct-ERIC Council meetings 

26th May 2021 - virtual (ZOOM)

6th October 2021- venue tbc


Instruct-ERIC Executive Committee

Name Member Country
Jan Steyaert Instruct Centre-BE
Han Remaut  
Vladimir Sklenar Instruct Centre-CZ
Ondrej Hradil  
Jose Maria Carazo Instruct Centre-ES
Carlos Oscar Sorzano  
Markku Varjosalo Instruct Centre-FI
Sarah Butcher  
Jean Cavarelli Instruct Centre-FR1
Patrick Schultz  
Darren Hart Instruct Centre-FR2
Martin Blackledge  
Michal Sharon Instruct Centre-IL
Joel Sussman  
Lucia Banci Instruct Centre-IT
Roberta Pierattelli  
Anastassis Perrakis Instruct Centre-NL
Rolf Boelens  
Dave Stuart (Chair) Instruct Centre-UK
Ray Owens  
Stephen Cusack Instruct Centre-EMBL
Matthias Willmans  

Dates for upcoming
Instruct-ERIC Exec meetings 

9 April 2021 - Virtual -TC

23 June 2021 – Virtual -TC

3 November 2021 - Teleconference


Internal documents

Members of governance bodies can access internal files such as meeting minutes and papers via the Instruct Intranet.

Go to Intranet